How many times have you heard someone give an oath and swear on something that they value, like “I swear on my mother’s grave”, or “I swear by my kids”.

The Book of James tells believers not to swear oaths, but to speak the truth, and let your yes be yes, and your no be no.

James 5:12
But above all, my brethren, do not swear, either by heaven or by earth or with any other oath. But let your “Yes,” be “Yes,” and your “No,” “No,” lest you fall into judgment.

In many places in the Old Testament, God swore oaths, and when He does so, there is nothing greater than Himself that He can swear to, we read this explanation in Hebrews

Hebrews 6:13
When God made his promise to Abraham, since there was no one greater for him to swear by, he swore by himself,

Here we find several examples of what this passage is referring to;

Genesis 22:16 and said, “I swear by myself, declares the LORD, that because you have done this and have not withheld your son, your only son,

Jeremiah 22:5 But if you do not obey these commands, declares the LORD, I swear by myself that this palace will become a ruin.’ ”

Jeremiah 49:13 I swear by myself,” declares the LORD, “that Bozrah will become a ruin and an object of horror, of reproach and of cursing; and all its towns will be in ruins forever.”

Jeremiah 44:26 But hear the word of the LORD, all Jews living in Egypt: ‘I swear by my great name,’ says the LORD, ‘that no one from Judah living anywhere in Egypt will ever again invoke my name or swear, “As surely as the Sovereign LORD lives.”

Jeremiah 51:14 The LORD Almighty has sworn by himself: I will surely fill you with men, as with a swarm of locusts, and they will shout in triumph over you.

It is my belief that there are too many discrepencies between the Yhwh of the Bible and the Allah of the Qur’an

One such difference is the oaths that Allah takes, versus those above made by Yhwh.

surah 51
1. By the (Winds) that scatter broadcast;
2. And those that lift and bear away heavy weights;
3. And those that flow with ease and gentleness;
4. And those that distribute and apportion by Command;-
5. Verily that which ye are promised is true;
6. And verily Judgment and Justice must indeed come to pass.
7. By the Sky with (its) numerous Paths,
8. Truly ye are in a doctrine discordant,

